Xavier University High School 1990: Cagayan de Oro City

Making Peace with Former Students Whose Natural Learning Motivations I May Have Damaged

4 shares in TEACHER ROM CUMAGUN’S PAGE in XUHS 1990 TIMELINE

  • Feeling is mutual hope batch 90 didn’t damaged your teaching perspective.
    .
    Rom Cumagun Bayong Aya-ay, On the contrary, batch 90 challenged me to understand and love students more; experiment with different teaching strategies to connect with the vastly diverse individual learning styles.
  • Bayong Aya-ay · Just hope they didn’t find their bags flying out their classroom. Hahaha peace sir this is just a joke ,
    .
  • That was already past sir and we understand also how stressfull is being a teacher of an exclusive all boys school with some crazy attitudes.  hope to see you on our XUHS alumni homecoming.
    .
  • Tristan Ludlow That was in the past sir. Given your experience as a young teacher with the daunting task of teaching 13 yr old testosterone fueled crazy little fuckers, u did what u thought was the best way to get through to each & everyone of us. And if that meant making backpacks fly or making us lay down on the floor so u can drive your point home so fucking be it. But during that time, and please forgive me for being so forthright, I thought that it was an asshole of a move. I could not grasp your ways. And so I met your charging “one man army of discipline” with great aplomb through defiance. But as the years have passed & fatherhood has bestowed upon me the responsibility of raising & teaching my 14 yr old son & 12 yr old daughter discipline, I now have full comprehension of what u were trying to do so fervidly. And for your steadfast resolve, I do thank u sir. For I would not be here today if I was not taught discipline by my parents and teachers alike. I am perpetually grateful. Thank u for letting me bend your ear. I can get a bit loquacious at times. Carry on sir.
    .
  • Rom Cumagun Bayong, I have now improved; the bags come flying out the classroom with the students strapped to them.
    .
  • Rom Cumagun Eljo, Thank you for recognizing the stress I underwent teaching an “exclusive all boys school with some crazy attitudes.” The experience was extra stressful because the teacher himself was a boy with a lot of crazy insecurities teaching for the first time.
  • Eljo Paalam ·
    Yikes! You did improved sir. From bags only flying to bags with owner flying! Hahahaha… nice!
    .
  • Rom Cumagun Tristan, Well said, Tristan! I taught at XUHS because I was trying to get to know the Jesuit apostolates and being confronted with “13 year old testosterone fueled crazy fuckers,” as you say, was mind opening, heart pounding, voice pushing and muscle wrenching even. My best response to the situation, I admit, was the asshole, militaristic authoritarian in me. My greatest worry all these years is that I may have damaged my students’ confidence to express themselves, to learn, to think, to write and to love. I interpreted your defiance as disrespect for authority; I should have praised your aplomb instead. I am thankful to God, that he has guided you, now that we are both parents, to the ways of steadfast leadership. I, too feel the same, that without you and all of my students, I wouldn’t be the teacher, the parent, the person that I am today. A special prayer for you, for your co-teacher and for your two adolescent female students: may you all be disciplined in the grace of God. My ears are here to bend for you anytime you please; it was permanently, hopelessly broken anyway way back in your class in 1990. Kidding aside, you can apply what I have learned about listening: Listen with the heart; only feelings understand feelings.” As for your loquacity, I suggest not to be apologetic about it, loquaciousness is an asset in making friends in addition to it being an additional skill in journalism; consider television journalism as an outlet for your talkativeness. In conflict resolution, when all avenues of negotiations seem to be exhausted, try the fail-safe move which is “Keep Talking.”

Jowette Cuevas shares this post in XUHS 1990

Welcome Rom Cumagun to Batch 1990

  • Rom Cumagun Allow me to make it up to all my “FORMER STUDENTS WHOSE NATURAL LEARNING MOTIVATIONS I MAY HAVE DAMAGED DUE TO MY LACK OF PEDAGOGIC MATURITY.”
  • Ryan Paayas sir were u our journalism teacher in 2L section around ’87 where one day u got pissed off and wrote on board about ‘copy’ = ‘photocopy’=’xerox’=…etc? not sure kung ikaw ba tua sir hehehe its been a long time but that was funny
  • Jowette Cuevas 2L last row Cuevas-Libang-Cyclops-Paayas hehehehe
  • Rom Cumagun Ryan Paayas Must have been me; still using that teaching style.
  • Rom Cumagun Jowette Cuevas Thanks for recalling the seating plan; helps me remember my scud missile targetting skills.
  • Ryan Paayas hehehe ok sir, remembering it now seems funny but hey u had to do what u gotta to do, anyway tnx
  • Rom Cumagun Ryan I did what I had to do, believing at that time that those were the right things to do. I, too, am “damaged goods” by the way my mother disciplined me. I survived my mother’s disciplinary approach and it worked in way because I am in a large part rebellious. Believing my mother’s discipline style to be good, I then applied it you, my first students. I have realized since then that there are other ways to discipline students: I now apply a more “communicative approach to discipline” which requires extreme effort at listening to what the students truly care about.
  • Chin Yāo Hàn Your draconic disciplinary methods left a colorful footnote on our journey to adulthood. Unlike ordinary teachers which came and went, til this day whenever I write on my jounal or blog, I can’t help but chuckle at times when I recall the ridiculous events that transpired during my highschool years. You were a part of that sir.
  • Rom Cumagun Thank you Chin Yāo Hàn Your affirmation lets me feel that our catastrophic learning journey wasn’t all in vain; it encourages me to strive to be an even better pedant.
  • Ryan Paayas all the memories were great! hehehe priceless
  • Rom Cumagun I equally value the memories and passionately look forward to making more memories with you all, my dear students.

Jowette Cuevas posted in Facebook March 14 

B A D T R I P !!!!

to which I commented:

Rom Cumagun I think this is a good time to discuss your personal accident insurance. Let me call you; what is your number? You may also call me 09272211966 09995064928 029414060
and which the following conversation followed suit:
XUHS English Spelling 2N-88-2nd

Xavier University High School English Spelling Contest 1988 Section 2N 2nd placer

The Warmest Welcome I Have Received So Far From a Facebook Group I Joined — Posted March 14, 2014 

Jowette Cuevas shared Rom Cumagun‘s photo March 14

Welcome Rom Cumagun to Batch 1990

  • Rom Cumagun Allow me to make it up to all my “FORMER STUDENTS WHOSE NATURAL LEARNING MOTIVATIONS I MAY HAVE DAMAGED DUE TO MY LACK OF PEDAGOGIC MATURITY.”
  • Ryan Paayas sir were u our journalism teacher in 2L section around ’87 where one day u got pissed off and wrote on board about ‘copy’ = ‘photocopy’=’xerox’=…etc? not sure kung ikaw ba tua sir hehehe its been a long time but that was funny
  • Jowette Cuevas 2L last row Cuevas-Libang-Cyclops-Paayas hehehehe
  • Rom Cumagun Ryan Paayas Must have been me; still using that teaching style.
  • Rom Cumagun Jowette Cuevas Thanks for recalling the seating plan; helps me remember my scud missile targetting skills.
  • Ryan Paayas hehehe ok sir, remembering it now seems funny but hey u had to do what u gotta to do, anyway tnx
  • Rom Cumagun Ryan I did what I had to do, believing at that time that those were the right things to do. I, too, am “damaged goods” by the way my mother disciplined me. I survived my mother’s disciplinary approach and it worked in way because I am in a large part rebellious. Believing my mother’s discipline style to be good, I then applied it you, my first students. I have realized since then that there are other ways to discipline students: I now apply a more “communicative approach to discipline” which requires extreme effort at listening to what the students truly care about.
  • Chin Yāo Hàn Your draconic disciplinary methods left a colorful footnote on our journey to adulthood. Unlike ordinary teachers which came and went, til this day whenever I write on my jounal or blog, I can’t help but chuckle at times when I recall the ridiculous events that transpired during my highschool years. You were a part of that sir.
  • Rom Cumagun Thank you Chin Yāo Hàn Your affirmation lets me feel that our catastrophic learning journey wasn’t all in vain; it encourages me to strive to be an even better pedant.
  • Ryan Paayas all the memories were great! hehehe priceless
  • Rom Cumagun I equally value the memories and passionately look forward to making more memories with you all, my dear students.

XUHS

My XUHS Photo Album

Leave a Reply

